Welcome aboard

into a sea of change

Text and Photography by Anne-Marie Asselin

Founder & Author of Lady Blue - The great journey

Adventure | Plastic pollution | Essay

Reading time: 3 minutes

Text by Anne-Marie Asselin, Founder

Published December 2018

Discover the story of our founder, Anne-Marie, which reflects on several years of travel, research and studies. She gives us a glimpse of her life, all over the world, in order to protect what is most important to her, the oceans! 

What hold tomorrow's seas?

If you read this document and end up here, it's probably because you have an interest in our planet. Thank you! Otherwise, it is by chance or by referencing. Stay here, you will certainly learn a few things!

 

As a young scientist, a diver and  explorer, I have witnessed a multitude of extraordinary phenomena on our planet: from migratory movements of sharks of all kinds of species, to the coral hatching four days after the first full moon of August (super esoteric indeed!), to orcas swimming along side our sail boat on the Pacific coast of Ecuador... I have been spoiled I know!

 

I felt the cold wind, the warm breeze, I saw the horizon as far as the eye can see. I even developed a photographic passion to nuance all the shades of blue that the sea reflects, rather emeralds, rather pale blue, light, dark ... And this, before the age of thirty. I am a reflection of what you describe "the generation Y". In my jargon, millennials. So I have traveled a lot, I have no mortgage and I use the internet as my main means of communication; typical!

I was also a witness, very young, of less beautiful phenomena. The "modern era" travels I conducted confronted me very early, to my North American distorted reality. As Lavoisier, father of chemistry at the beginning of the 18th century, said: "Nothing is lost, nothing is created, everything is transformed". I realized pretty soon, in my early twenties, that I had an important responsibility on the ugliness witnessed in several countries. You're going to tell me, "Another one who's going to talk about pollution!". But even if it is far from what you can see, pollution is real. For several decades now, wastes have accumulated thanks to the great ocean currents called ocean gyres. These currents can also bring back floating plastic items to the coast, one tide at a time. And I have contributed to the trash. From the moment I was born. And I had no idea I was contributing to such an ugly truth.

Nothing is lost.

I reiterate Lavoisier, the plastic is not lost! So I found myself in the middle of a gyre in the eastern Atlantic where I was surrounded by bottles, cartridges, utensils and various plastic dedicated to a "single use". There was also a lot of particles, I wondered if the intact wastes came from the coast. I did not understand what I saw. I could recognize almost all the garbage around me and their uses in my daily life, in a soup of particles. A shock…

 

There were also people, coastal people. These people did not seem to live like us. They did not seem to be responsible for generating this pollution. They seemed so happy with barely nothing. Yet these isolated peoples on the coasts, the small island states, in places that should yet be untouched, were rather buried under plastic wastes. Transported in a tide of containers and plastic particles brought by the currents on their banks.

Nothing is created.

I also saw fishing, overfishing, massive exploitation, the one that catches or destroys everything in its path. There was poaching, greedy tourism, corals screaming for help, mangroves disappearing more and more, seas too toxic to soak in your toe... The list is long. Just look, pay attention. Our environment is under tremendous pressure.

Everything is transformed.

I had the privilege of also witnessing human events that prove the strength of the union, as in Paris in December 2015, during the historic agreement signed by the United Nations to fight climate change. As a young ambassador for the oceans within UNESCO's Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission, I had access to the negotiating pavilion where delegations and world leaders walked the corridors of COP21 to conclude this ambitious environmental agreement. But I have also been called by all "normal" people, mobilized by a historic political event, led by strength and belief that a healthy environment is a fundamental human right. What's more, a tide of people claiming that the environment should weigh a lot more in political weight. I saw hope.

All this reminds me constantly of the smallness of my existence and I can not remain without words. That is why I carry my voice, and help to our dear blue home, its animals, its plants, either living and non-living, to convey the importance of its protection. My experience can touch and raise awareness. It is in all this current chaos and this lack of real legal structure that the environment is a sector holding a lot of potential. Did you know that the Ocean is for the first time in an international convention since its official signing on April 22, 2016, on earth day ?

"Noting the importance of ensuring the integrity of all ecosystems, including the oceans, and the protection of biodiversity, recognized by some cultures as the Mother Earth, and noting the importance for some of the concept of "Climate Justice", in the fight against climate change, affirming the importance of education, training, awareness raising, public participation, public access to information and cooperation at all levels on the issues addressed in this Agreement, recognizing the importance of the participation of public authorities at all levels and of the various actors, in accordance with the respective national legislation of the Parties, in the fight against climate change Recognizing also that sustainable lifestyles and sustainable patterns of consumption and production, with developed countries leading the way, play an important role in both to cope with climate change. "

-Paris Agreement, United Nations, 2015

 

#BluePriority

The cards are on the table; many people, groups, and multiple organizations come together in this movement. I am excited for tomorrow, this world filled with environmental, technological, innovative opportunities where the human is an integral part of its ecosystem! Nothing is lost, nothing is created, everything is transformed. Well, here is the transformation! The world of tomorrow is very different from yesterday. It will be poorer in biodiversity, there will be many more humans on earth, but it will be respectful of others, it will be cleaner and above all more sustainable, and it will pay close attention to ecosystem integrity. This is why I want to take you to see all the potential that resides on our coastline from North to South America. It's time to turn the page, talk about opportunities, ingenuities and move forward by creating a positive wave of change.

 

Welcome aboard into a sea of change

Anne-Marie Asselin

Explorer, marine biologist, conservationist

Anne-Marie has a very developed scientific and creative spirit. Always with a perspective and a positive outlook on the world, she knows how to tell stories both in writing and photography to travel, to inspire.

Follow her in her adventures.

Join the circle

Join our subscribers list to receive our news in your mailbox, from time to time.

This website was designed on a dark background to be more energy efficient by using less light, while making you enjoy our platform in a "darkroom" format.

We hope you enjoy it!

Follow us :

  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
© 2018 The Blue Organization
Montreal, QC, Canada

Bienvenue à bord vers les mers de demain

Texte et photos par Anne-Marie Asselin 
Fondatrice et auteure de Lady Bleue - le grand voyage

Explorer | Conservation | Récit

Temps de lecture: 3 minutes

Texte par Anne-Marie Asselin

Mise en ligne 5 Décembre 2018

Découvrez le récit de notre fondatrice, Anne-Marie qui reflète sur plusieurs années de voyages, recherches et études. Elle nous fait découvrir un aperçu de sa vie, aux quatre coins de la planète, afin de protéger ce qui lui tient le plus à coeur, les océans! 

Que nous réservent les mers de demain?

Si vous lisez ce document et que vous vous retrouvez ici, c’est probablement parce que vous avez un intérêt pour notre planète. Merci! Sinon, c’est par hasard ou par référencement, alors tant mieux! Restez-y, vous y apprendrez certainement quelques choses!

 

En tant que jeune scientifique, plongeuse et exploratrice des temps modernes, j’ai été témoin d’une multitude de phénomènes extraordinaires sur notre planète: des mouvements migratoires de requins de toutes sortes d’espèces, de la pondaison des coraux quatre jours après la première pleine lune du mois d’août (full ésotérique!), des orques sur les côtes pacifiques équatoriennes croisés en bateau à voile…

 

J’ai senti le vent froid, la brise chaude, j’ai vu l’horizon à perte de vue. J’ai même développé une passion photographique pour nuancer toutes les teintes de bleues que la mer nous reflète, plutôt émeraudes, plutôt bleues pâles, claires, foncées… Et ce, avant l’âge de trente ans. Je suis le reflet de ce que vous décrivez “la génération des enfants du millénaire”. Dans mon jargon, les milléniaux. J’ai donc pas mal voyagé, je n’ai pas d’hypothèque et j’utilise internet comme principal moyen de communication; typique quoi!

J’ai aussi été témoin, très jeune, de phénomènes moins beaux. Le voyage m’a confronté très tôt à la réalité distortionnée de l’Amérique du Nord. Comme disait Lavoisier, père de la chimie au début du 18e siècle: “Rien ne se perd, rien ne se crée, tout se transforme”. J’ai réalisé assez tôt, début vingtaine que j’avais une importante responsabilité sur la laideur témoignée dans plusieurs pays. Depuis déjà plusieurs décennies, les déchets s’accumulent dans ces grands tourbillons appelés gyres océaniques, qui les ramènent ensuite sur les côtes, une marée à la fois. Et j'ai contribué à ce dépotoir. Depuis le jour où je suis née. Je n'avais aucune idée que je prenais part à cette affreuse vérité.

Rien ne se perd.

 

Je réitère Lavoisier, le plastique ne se perd pas! Je me suis donc retrouvée au beau milieu d’un gyre en Atlantique-est où j’étais entourée de bouteilles, cartouches tampons, ustensiles et plastique à usage unique divers. Il y avait aussi beaucoup de particules, je me demandais si les déchets intacts venaient de la côte. Je ne comprenais pas ce que je voyais.  Je pouvais reconnaître quasi tous les déchets qui m’entouraient et leurs utilisations dans ma vie quotidienne, dans une soupe de particules. Un choc…

 

Il y avait aussi des gens, des peuples côtiers. Ces peuples ne semblaient pas vivre comme nous. Il ne semblait pourtant pas participer à cette pollution générée par les habitudes de vies nord-américaines. Ils semblaient si heureux avec ce que l’on qualifie chez moi, de rien du tout. Pourtant, ces peuples isolés sur les côtes, les petits états insulaires, dans des endroits qui devraient pourtant être intouchés, étaient plutôt ensevelis sous les déchets. Transportez-vous dans une marée de contenants et de particules de plastiques amenés par les courants sur leurs berges.

 

Rien ne se crée.

 

J’ai vu aussi la pêche, la surpêche, l’exploitation massive, celle qui attrape ou détruit tout sur son passage. Il y a eu le braconnage, le tourisme avide, les coraux criant à l’aide, les mangroves disparaissant de plus en plus, des mers trop toxiques pour pouvoir y tremper son orteil... La liste est longue. Il suffit de regarder, de porter attention. Notre environnement est sous une pression sans comparable. 

Tout se transforme.

J’ai eu le privilège d’être témoin d’événements humains qui prouvent la force de l’union, comme à Paris en décembre 2015, lors de l’accord historique signé par les Nations Unies pour lutter les changements climatiques. En tant que jeune ambassadrice pour les océans au sein de la Commission Océanographique Intergouvernementale de l’UNESCO, j’ai eu accès au pavillon des négociations où les délégations et les plus grands dirigeants mondiaux marchèrent les corridors de la COP21, pour conclure cet accord environnemental ambitieux. Mais j’ai aussi été appelé par tous les gens “normaux”, mobilisés par un événement politique historique, mené par la force et la croyance qu’un environnement sain constitue un droit fondamental pour l’humanité. Qui plus est, une marée de gens qui revendique que l’environnement devrait compter pour beaucoup plus dans le poids politique.  J’ai vu l’espoir.

 

Tout cela me rappelle sans cesse la petitesse de mon existence et je ne peux rester sans mot. C’est pourquoi je porte ma voix, et main forte à notre chère maison bleue, aux animaux, aux plantes, au vivant et au non vivant, afin de véhiculer l’importance de sa protection, par mon vécu, mon expérience. C’est dans tout ce chaos actuel et ce manque de réelle structure juridique que l’environnement est un secteur détenant énormément de potentiel. Saviez-vous que l’Océan figure pour la première fois dans une convention internationale depuis sa signature officielle le 22 avril 2016, journée symbolique de la terre?

 

“Notant qu'il importe de veiller à l'intégrité de tous les écosystèmes, y compris les océans, et à la protection de la biodiversité, reconnue par certaines cultures comme la Terre nourricière, et notant l'importance pour certains de la notion de «justice climatique», dans l'action menée face aux changements climatiques, affirmant l'importance de l'éducation, de la formation, de la sensibilisation, de la participation du public, de l'accès de la population à l'information et de la coopération à tous les niveaux sur les questions traitées dans le présent Accord, reconnaissant l'importance de la participation des pouvoirs publics à tous les niveaux et des divers acteurs, conformément aux législations nationales respectives des Parties, dans la lutte contre les changements climatiques, reconnaissant également que des modes de vie durables et des modes durables de consommation et de production, les pays développés partis montrant la voie, jouent un rôle important pour faire face aux changements climatiques.”

-Accord de Paris, Nations Unies, 2015

 

#BluePriority

 

Les cartes sont sur table; beaucoup de gens, groupes, et organisations multiples s’allient dans cette mouvance. Je suis excitée pour demain, ce monde rempli d’opportunités environnementales, technologiques, innovantes où l’humain fait partie intégrante de son écosystème! Rien ne se perd, rien ne se crée, tout se transforme. Et bien la voilà la transformation! Le monde de demain est très différent de celui d’hier. Il sera moins riche en biodiversité, il y aura beaucoup plus d’humains sur terre, mais il sera respectueux d’autrui, il sera plus propre et surtout plus durable, et il sera d’abord à l’écoute des écosystèmes. C’est pourquoi je vous amène voir tout ce potentiel qui réside sur notre littoral, tout le long de la côte américaine nord et sud. Il est temps de tourner la page, de parler des bons coups, et d’aller de l’avant en créant une vague de changement.

 

Bienvenue à bord, vers les mers de demain.

Anne-Marie Asselin

Fondatrice, Écologiste marine, conservationniste
 

Anne-Marie a un esprit scientifique et créatif très développé. Toujours avec une optique et un regard positif sur le monde, elle sait raconter des histoires tant à l'écrit qu'en photographie pour faire voyager, inspirer et outiller l'auditeur.  

Rejoignez le cercle

Joignez-vous à notre liste de diffusion pour recevoir nos nouvelles par courrier électronique, de temps à autre.

Ce site web a été conçu sur un fond sombre pour être plus économe en énergie, en utilisant moins de lumière, tout en vous faisant profiter de notre plate-forme dans un format "chambre noire".
 

Nous espérons que vous l'apprécierez!

Suivez-nous

  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
© 2018 Organisation Bleue
Montréal, QC, Canada