Cleaning a beach,

over and over

By Julie Vigneault

Founder at Operation Rich Coast
 

Environment | Community | Plastic

Reading time : 4 minutes

Text by Julie Vigneault

Photography by Julie Vigneault and Guillaume Shea-Blais

Online June 9th 2020

As part of Oceans Week, the Blue Organization is sharing stories from our employees, to share their inspiring and informative stories with you. Immerse yourself in our theme of plastic pollution. 

#OceansWeekQc

To get closer to nature, but above all to do her part in safeguarding Costa Rica's crystalline waters, Julie Vigneault tells how her personal project has become that of an entire community and much more. Here is the story of a Quebec woman in Costa Rica who cleans the beaches of the most sustainable country in the world.

Cleaning a beach, over and over...

Originally from Montreal and the daughter of a loyal "Snowbird", I went 5 years ago to visit my father in Costa Rica. He built an inn there with his carpenter's hands, his little piece of paradise, and he has been staying there for 30 years now during the Quebec winter. Curious to see the evolution of my father's never-ending project, I spent a month by his side to discover his world more intimately. 

This stay changed my life. 

A few weeks after my return to Quebec, I made the decision to move there full time and get involved in the management of the company. I am now what we call an expatriate or "expat" to my friends. I may have left my country, but I am far from leaving my pride in Quebec! However, I had to take the plunge, take the plunge, and leave my profession in film, my friends and my family. My motivation was simple, it was to try something new, but above all to try to get closer to the quest I had: to live closer to nature and in harmony with it. Camped between the Pacific Ocean and the jungle, Manuel Antonio National Park offers me exactly the balance and closeness that I was always looking for when I spent my weekends in the region. And this, close to my father.

I traded my snowboard for a surfboard, and my hat and scarf for a mask and snorkel! 

But to get closer to nature these days is also to witness a great upheaval. Having already taken an interest in the environment, I quickly realized that not everything around me was "green". Even though Costa Rica is recognized worldwide as a pioneer in the field of environmental sustainability, with the tourism sector having contributed greatly to the evolution of this approach, there are still many gaps in waste and wastewater management. 

My village, highly coveted by tourism for its rich and abundant biodiversity, lush jungle and golden beaches, seems at first glance to be a clean and environmentally conscious place. It is by going off the beaten track that one quickly realizes that the infrastructures were hastily built on obsolete bases, as is the case in the majority of the seaside areas throughout the world. The influx of visitors is growing faster than the capacity to manage environmental impacts, and the economic benefits generated by tourism seem to take precedence.

 Clean a beach, a never ending job

It was while having my coffee by the sea that I decided to take action against the accumulation of waste I could see on the Cocal peninsula in front of me. This peninsula is on the fringe of the tourist sector; it is described as the tourist backstage. It is described as the backdrop for tourism. Many of its residents are very poor and the environment is not the most affluent in the country. This is a big gap with the reality of tourist places. So I created a Facebook event for the following Saturday and tried to rally people to come and help me clean up this beautiful place, but contaminated and invaded under the plastic. Saturday came, and there were... three of us. At first disappointed by the lack of answers, it's while chatting with my new allies, sharing the same feeling, that I decided to organize another one, and to persevere. Quietly, the community rallied, and then grew. We repeated the experience twice a month, more and more new faces joined us, until the day when the idea came up to coordinate a national clean-up event.  

Within a few weeks, we had more than 25 ambassadors in 25 locations across the country, from the North to the South of Costa Rica! The result was Operation Rich Coast (ORC) and Costa Rica's National Clean-up Day. In 2019, more than 45 locations were cleaned up simultaneously, with more than 1300 volunteers throughout the country! Gaining popularity on social media, Operation Rich Coast is now a web platform where one can find centralized information and a busy weekly schedule displaying the many clean-up initiatives and activities organized across the country.

coeur_demo0.jpeg

But how do we stop the endless cleaning?

I must admit that participating in dozens of cleanups can be as rewarding as it is demotivating... and discouraging at times. It's a task that has to be done over and over again with the constant flow of debris, starting tide after tide.

We also realize that the majority of plastic items recovered are not recyclable due to degradation from exposure to the sun and salt water. In fact, plastic subjected to sunlight, wave action, and salt breaks down and loses its recyclable properties.

There is also an awareness that the items mainly collected could have been easily avoided by small daily changes. Single-use plastic bottles, straws and wrappers for example, are easily avoided when reusable items are provided. Sometimes they are so simple and obvious, you'd want to shout it from the rooftops! Let's not forget that the debris that ends up on the beach is debris that has some kind of buoyancy, such as plastic bottles, straws, lighters, styrofoam packaging, toothbrushes, cigarettes, etc. So there's a lot of hidden pollution underwater like anything made of metal, aluminum, plastic bags, commercial fishing equipment, used tires, glass bottles, all of which are collected on the sea floor. That's why underwater environmental action is as important as coastal clean-up! 

Scientists predict that at the current rate, if nothing changes, the oceans will contain more plastic than fish by weight by 2050. While beach clean-ups are necessary and rewarding activities, they are also really the end of a cycle that could have been avoided; the contamination of the environment, and the loss of potentially recyclable value.

 

These ubiquitous materials on the world's coastlines carry a great message reminding us that nothing goes away. 

 

" These ubiquitous materials on coastlines around the world carry a great message reminding us

that nothing disappears. "

Marine pollution being fuelled by rivers flowing through cities and in which an incredible amount of garbage is found is not to be taken lightly. We realize that the problem is not only in coastal areas. The problem even emerges upstream, with waste travelling incredible distances within rivers inland.

The importance of working upstream

Recycling is good, but it's not enough. Only 10% of what is put in the recycling bin is actually recycled, overall. We must not believe that because we put our waste in the trash or at the recycling bin that it really ends up in the right place. The solution lies in reducing overall consumption at source, both industrial and individual.  

What will ONE plastic bottle change? 

 

Multiplied by 7.7 billion people, that's the difference. The difference lies in the choice of each individual. This is why a great deal of work needs to be done upstream through education, since that is really where change happens. The most important spin-off, in my view, is this awareness. During a cleansing, it is difficult to avoid introspection. Picking up plastic on the riverbank also means recognizing its use in our daily lives. The instinct to immediately want to change our lifestyle habits in the face of the problem is common among the participants. 

It is by teaching, inspiring and taking action that we can build a society that is conscientious and respectful of its environment and its fellow man. It is calculated that the world's population is growing by about 83 million people a year. At this rate, our indifference and inaction on environmental issues is endangering our own species and everything around us. There is no other green and blue planet as welcoming as the one we walk on in the universe. There are no greater lessons to be learned while on Earth than how to live in harmony with our neighbour and the nature that sustains us. The strength really lies in union. 

That is why we must know how to influence by our actions and our messages. Each one of us can make a multitude of small gestures. Getting involved in our communities, participating in community efforts and voting for governments that propose real substantive changes to address climate change is an absolute necessity. It is through action that we can make a difference. My experience in Costa Rica is an example of that. Becoming the drop in the bucket that collectively will create the wave of change.

 

 

For me, it was moving into the jungle with my father and reconnecting with what made sense for my future.

Taking control. Make choices.

Create your own tidal wave.

Julie Vigneault

Leader de communauté, surfeuse

Julie est un exemple inspirant d’un parcours non conventionnel et  incarne une génération nomade qu’elle représente avec brio. Instigatrice et fondatrice de Operation Rich Coast au Costa Rica, Julie est une leader positive et inspirante pour sa communauté. Les nettoyages de plage sont au coeur de sa démarche.

  • Instagram

Operation Rich Coast

  • Instagram

Community leader, environmentalist & surfer

Julie is an inspiring example of an unconventional journey and embodies a nomadic generation that she represents with brio. Instigator and founder of Operation Rich Coast in Costa Rica, Julie is a positive and inspiring leader in her community. Beach clean-ups are at the heart of her approach.

Join the circle

Join our subscribers list to receive our news in your mailbox, from time to time.

This website was designed on a dark background to be more energy efficient by using less light, while making you enjoy our platform in a "darkroom" format.

We hope you enjoy it!

Follow us :

  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
© 2018 The Blue Organization
Montreal, QC, Canada

Nettoyer une plage...

marée après marée

Écrit par Julie Vigneault

Fondatrice de Operation Rich Coast 

 

Communauté | Pollution plastique

Temps de lecture: Environ 6 minutes

Texte par Julie Vigneault

Photos par Julie Vigneault et Guillaume Shea-Blais

Mise en ligne le 8 juin 2020

Dans le cadre de la semaine des océans, l’Organisation Bleue vous partage des récits de nos collaborateurs, pour faire découvrir leurs histoires à la fois inspirantes et instructives. Immergez-vous dans notre thématique de la pollution plastique. 

 

#SemainedesOceansQc

 

Pour se rapprocher de la nature, mais surtout pour faire sa part dans la sauvegarde des eaux cristallines du Costa Rica, Julie Vigneault raconte comment son projet personnel est devenu celui de toute une collectivité et bien plus. Voici le récit d’une Québécoise au Costa Rica qui nettoie les plages du pays le plus durable au monde.

Point de départ: faire le saut

Originaire de Montréal et Fille d’un fidèle « Snowbird », je suis allée il y a 5 ans, visiter mon père au Costa Rica. Il y a construit une auberge de ses mains de menuisier, son petit bout de paradis, et il y séjourne depuis maintenant 30 ans durant l’hiver québécois. Curieuse de voir l’évolution du projet sans fin de mon paternel, j’ai passé un mois à ses côtés et à découvrir plus intimement son univers. 

Ce séjour a changé ma vie. 

Quelques semaines suivant mon retour au Québec, j’ai pris la décision d’y emménager à temps plein et de m’engager dans la gestion de la compagnie. Je suis maintenant ce qu’on appelle une expatriée ou « expat » pour les intimes. J’ai quitté mon pays certes, mais bien loin de laisser ma fierté québécoise! J’ai cependant dû prendre mon courage, faire le saut et laisser mon métier en cinéma, mes amis et ma famille. Ma motivation était simple, c’était pour essayer quelque chose de nouveau, mais surtout pour tenter de me rapprocher de cette quête qui m’habitait: de vivre plus près de la nature et en harmonie avec celle-ci. Campé entre l'océan Pacifique et la jungle, le parc national Manuel Antonio m’offre exactement l’équilibre et cette proximité que je recherchais sans cesse en passant mes week-ends à l’aventure en région. Et ce, près de mon père.

J’ai troqué ma planche a neige pour une planche de surf, et ma tuque et foulard pour un masque et tuba! 

Mais se rapprocher de la nature de nos jours, c’est aussi devenir témoin d’un grand bouleversement. Ayant déjà un intérêt marqué pour l’environnement, j’ai rapidement réalisé que tout n’était pas « vert » autour de moi. Même si le Costa Rica est reconnu à l’échelle mondiale pour être un pionnier dans le domaine de la viabilité environnementale, le secteur du tourisme ayant grandement contribué à l’évolution de cette démarche, il y a encore beaucoup de lacunes au niveau de la gestion des déchets et des eaux usées. 

 

Mon village, très convoité par le tourisme pour sa riche et abondante biodiversité, sa jungle luxuriante et ses plages dorées,  semble de prime abord un endroit propre et où l’on se soucie particulièrement de l’environnement. C’est en sortant des sentiers battus qu’on s’aperçoit vite que les infrastructures ont été précipitamment bâties sur des bases désuètes, comme c’est le cas de la majorité des zones balnéaires à travers le monde d’ailleurs. L’afflux de visiteurs croît plus rapidement que la capacité à gérer les répercussions environnementales, et les retombées économiques engendrées par le tourisme semblent passer en priorité.

Nettoyer une plage, un travail perpétuel

C’est en prenant mon café au bord de la mer que j’ai décidé de prendre des mesures face à  l’accumulation de déchets que je pouvais percevoir sur la presqu'île de Cocal devant moi. Cette presqu’île se situe en marge du secteur touristique; on le décrit comme l’arrière-scène touristique. Ces habitants sont pour plusieurs très pauvres et l’environnement n’est pas celui des plus nantis au pays. Un grand écart avec la réalité des lieux touristiques. J’ai alors créé un évènement Facebook pour le samedi suivant et essayé de rallier des gens pour venir m’aider à nettoyer cet endroit magnifique, mais contaminé et envahi sous le plastique. Samedi est venu, et nous étions... trois. D’abord déçue par le peu de réponses, c’est en conversant avec mes nouveaux alliés, partageant le même sentiment, que j’ai décidé d’en organiser un autre, et de persévérer. Tranquillement, la communauté s’est ralliée, puis a grandi. Nous avons répété l’expérience bimensuellement, de plus en plus de nouveaux visages se sont joints à nous, jusqu’au jour où l’idée nous est venue de coordonner une activité de nettoyage à l’échelle nationale.  

En quelques semaines, nous avons rassemblé plus de 25 ambassadeurs dans 25 localisations dispersées à travers le pays, du Nord au sud du Costa Rica! C’est ainsi que sont nées l’organisation Operation Rich Coast (ORC) et la Journée nationale de nettoyage du Costa Rica. En 2019, ce sont plus de 53 lieux qui ont été nettoyés simultanément, et plus 1300 bénévoles! Gagnant en popularité sur les médias sociaux, Operation Rich Coast est maintenant une plateforme web où l’on peut retrouver une information centralisée et un horaire hebdomadaire bien rempli affichant les multiples initiatives et activités de nettoyages organisées à travers le pays.

coeur_demo0.jpeg

Mais, comment mettre fin au nettoyage sans fin ?

Je dois admettre que de participer à des dizaines de nettoyages peut devenir aussi gratifiant que démotivant… et décourageant par moment. La tâche est à refaire constamment vu le flot continu de débris, à recommencer marée après marée.

On réalise de plus que la majorité des items plastiques repêchés sont non recyclables en raison de la dégradation reliée à l’exposition au soleil et à l’eau salée. En effet, le plastique soumis aux rayons du soleil, à l’action des vagues, et au sel se désagrège et perd ses propriétés recyclables.

On prend conscience également que les items principalement collectés pourraient avoir été facilement évités par de petits changements quotidiens. Les bouteilles de plastique à usage unique, les pailles et les emballages par exemple, sont facilement évitables quand on se munit d’objet réutilisable. Parfois si simple et évident, qu’on aurait envie d’aller le crier sur les toits! Sans oublier que les débris qui aboutissent sur la plage sont ceux qui possèdent une quelconque flottabilité comme les bouteilles de plastique, les pailles, les briquets, les emballages de styromousse, les brosses à dents, les cigarettes, etc. Il y a donc beaucoup de pollution cachée sous l’eau comme tout ce qui est fabriqué de métal, d’aluminium, les sacs de plastique, l’équipement de pêche commerciale, les pneus usés, les bouteilles de vitre, qui se ramassent tous dans les fonds marins. C’est pourquoi l’action environnementale sous-marine est aussi importante que les nettoyages en milieu côtiers! 

Les scientifiques prévoient qu’au rythme actuel, si rien ne change, les océans contiendront plus de plastique que de poissons en poids d'ici 2050. Si les nettoyages de plages sont de belles activités nécessaires et enrichissantes, elles sont aussi en réalité la fin d’un cycle que l’on aurait pu éviter; la contamination de l’environnement, ainsi que la perte d’une valeur possiblement recyclable.

« Ces matières omniprésentes sur les littoraux du monde entier portent un grand message nous rappelant

que rien ne disparaît. »

La pollution marine étant nourrie par les cours d’eau qui traversent les villes et dans lesquels se retrouve une quantité incroyable de déchets n’est pas à prendre à la légère. On se rend compte que le problème ne vient pas uniquement des zones côtières. Le problème émerge même en amont, les déchets parcourants des distances incroyables au sein même de rivières à l’intérieur des terres.

L'importance de travailler en amont

Le recyclage c’est bien, mais ce n’est pas assez. Seulement 10% de ce qui est mis au bac de récupération est réellement recyclé, et ce globalement. Il ne faut pas croire que parce qu’on dépose notre déchet dans la corbeille ou à la récupération qu’il termine vraiment au bon endroit. La solution réside dans la réduction à la source, de la consommation globale, tant industrielle qu’individuelle.  

Qu’est-ce qu’UNE bouteille de plastique va changer? 

Multipliée par 7,7 milliards d’humains, elle est là la différence. Elle réside dans le choix de chaque individu. C’est pourquoi il faut grandement travailler en amont par l’éducation, puisque c’est réellement là où le changement se produit. La plus importante retombée qui en ressort, selon moi, réside dans cette prise de conscience. Durant un nettoyage, il est difficile d’éviter l’introspection. Ramasser du plastique sur les berges, c’est aussi reconnaître son utilisation dans notre quotidien. L’instinct d’aussitôt vouloir changer nos habitudes de vie face au problème est chose commune chez les participants. 

C’est en enseignant, en inspirant et en agissant qu’il y a possibilité de bâtir une société consciencieuse et respectueuse de son environnement et de son prochain. On calcule que la population mondiale augmente d’environ 83 millions d’humains par an. À cette vitesse, notre indifférence et notre inaction face aux enjeux environnementaux mettent en danger notre propre espèce, ainsi que tout ce qui nous entoure. Il n’y a pas d’autre planète verte et bleue aussi accueillante que celle sur laquelle on se promène dans l’univers. Il n’y a pas de leçons plus grandes à apprendre durant notre passage sur Terre que celle d’arriver à vivre en harmonie avec son voisin et cette nature qui nous soutient. La force réside réellement dans l’union. 

C’est pourquoi il faut savoir influencer par nos actions et par nos messages. Chacun d’entre nous peut faire une multitude de petits gestes. S’engager auprès de notre collectivité, participer aux efforts communautaires et voter pour des gouvernements qui proposent de vrais changements de fond face aux changements climatiques, tout ça est d’une absolue nécessité. C’est dans l’action que nous parvenons à faire une différence. Mon expérience au Costa Rica en est un exemple. Devenir la goutte d’eau qui collectivement créera la vague de changement.

 

Pour moi, ce fut d’emménager dans la jungle avec mon père et me reconnecter avec ce qu’y faisait du sens pour mon futur.

Prendre le contrôle. Faire ses choix.

Créer son propre raz-de-marée.

Julie Vigneault

Leader de communauté, surfeuse

Julie est un exemple inspirant d’un parcours non conventionnel et  incarne une génération nomade qu’elle représente avec brio. Instigatrice et fondatrice de Operation Rich Coast au Costa Rica, Julie est une leader positive et inspirante pour sa communauté. Les nettoyages de plage sont au coeur de sa démarche.

  • Instagram

Operation Rich Coast

  • Instagram

Julie Vigneault

Rejoignez le cercle

Joignez-vous à notre liste de diffusion pour recevoir nos nouvelles par courrier électronique, de temps à autre.

Ce site web a été conçu sur un fond sombre pour être plus économe en énergie, en utilisant moins de lumière, tout en profitant de notre plate-forme dans un format "chambre noire".
 

Nous espérons que vous l'appréciez!

Suivez-nous

  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
© 2018 Organisation Bleue
Montréal, QC, Canada