The Trace

By Olivier Cameron Trudel
Wildlife Biologist & Photographer

 

Understand | Environment | Philosophy

Reading time: 4 minutes

Text and research by Olivier Cameron Trudel

Published December 2018

Earth is an approximately spherical, living organism known as the Biosphere. Although economic science took eons to recognize it, our planet is, indeed, a round and finite globe. Seeing as resources are limited in time and/or space, infinite growth on earth is not possible, contrary to the paradigm of economy based on infinite capital growth. The use of resources versus the limited quantity of these resources dictates the rules according to a very simple principle: nothing is lost, nothing is created, everything is transformed.

 

The earth system generates and regenerates many products and services, and mankind is one of the beneficiaries of these products and services. Similar to an economic system, the regulating of the earth’s production can be observed through the concept of supply and demand. The difference between what the planet can produce, provide and absorb (the supply) and what mankind consumes and wastes (the demand) leads to a balance, whether negative or positive, much like a bank account. In this case, the balance is an ecological one and can be measured by the total number of resources used in the closed system that is the biosphere.         

The footprint generated by any one human throughout his or her life will be the direct result of their consumer choices. This ecological footprint can greatly vary according to one’s geographic region, transportation habits, housing, dietary choices, etc. (reference: global footprint.org). We are 7.65 billion people living on this small blue and green globe, sharing a similar journey, using limited resources and . . . we have nowhere else to go.    

 

Picture planet earth, with its biodiversity and all the complexities of its ecosystems, as a sophisticated electrical space shuttle travelling through space. Operating this shuttle requires the use of battery reserves, which are recharged by solar energy. Currently, the crew travelling aboard the shuttle is using more energy than the solar panels are capable of generating. The problem is, we don’t know what the total charge capacity was at the start. Emptying our battery reserves can have major impacts, such as compromising the progression of the shuttle in the time-space continuum, rendering impossible the avoidance of a probable collision with a celestial body a very real possibility, limiting the shuttle’s ability to absorb and recover from such a shock.   

On a smaller scale, the shuttle is a system that operates thanks to the joint work of various parts: bolts, welded metal sheets, etc. Upon inspection of these parts, we realize that several have disappeared over time. Individually, each of these parts is perhaps not necessary to the proper functioning of the shuttle, but there comes a point when the loss of one more part will tip the scales and threaten the system’s fragile equilibrium and compromise the ability to navigate. We’re lucky that the biosphere’s system is filled with functional redundancies (example: several species have the ability to pollinate, or break down organic matter), which has bought us a little time. But it also delayed the detection of the system’s breakdown, perhaps making us underestimate the impact this will have. By removing parts here, cutting wires and ripping pipes there, we find ourselves with a shuttle whose air-conditioning system is no longer functioning to full capacity, a system circulating with contaminated water, with some parts lacking water and others inundated with it. If the loss of certain functions in the shuttle seems unpleasant or even costly for mankind, the loss of other functions becomes downright dangerous.                  

 

Will the shuttle that is our planet be capable of absorbing this ecological breakdown for much longer? For how long will the remaining batteries and parts be able to keep our precious ecosystems running? It’s hard to predict . . .

A team of scientists have developed a concept known as “planetary boundaries”, which represents the limits mankind must not exceed should we want to preserve a stable ecosystem and minimize the chances of large-scale abrupt or irreversible environmental changes. This approach stems from the fact that, environmentally speaking, we should be maintaining a planetary system with conditions comparable to the Holocene, the geological era when mankind evolved. According to research, we have already crossed the boundaries of several important variables, notably in regards to biosphere integrity, climate change, nitrogen and phosphorus cycles, and land-system change. Keep in mind that we live in a closed system, the only of its kind within light years . . . a very precious shuttle indeed!      

 

So what would a collapse of our ecological system(s) look like? If one of the biosphere’s systems loses its ability to produce goods and services (pollination by bees, air purification by our forests, dietary protein provided by the sea, filtration of toxic substances by the soil and wetlands, etc.), how will it happen? Occasionally, gradually or will it create a domino effect? The two most important factors for ensuring the stability of our planetary system are biodiversity and climate, and both these factors are seriously impacted by our activities—the very heart of our shuttle. Seeing as so many elements are interconnected, it’s logical to think that the collapse of one system or ecological cycle could trigger the breakdown of other major parts of the biosphere. When one link in the operating chain ceases to function, the entire shuttle is in danger of total failure . . .     

It’s time we realize that mankind is at a crossroads. We have the privilege of witnessing a defining moment for our species. We are among the first generations to so clearly understand the over-exploitation and challenges threatening our biosphere’s systems—a direct result of our own actions. But we’re also possibly among the last generations with the power to change the course of our planet in order to limit the extent of the disasters caused by our actions. We must find solutions—and fast—and we must change the course of mankind’s destiny. We must be the shift this world needs by taking part in the story that’s being written.      

 

We need to take a stance . . . take concrete action on a daily basis, evaluate the planet, much like we would with a budget, over a period of time that allows us to see the results of our actions, and measure their efficiency rapidly while facing these ecological emergencies. Yes, it’s a question of respecting the environment, but it’s also more than that—it’s about respecting the common good, understanding that we all need to show some humility and take responsibility for our space shuttle and all forms of life that are on it.  


So the question is : what trace do you choose to leave behind?

Learn more

References

  1. Penuelas J., Poulter B., Sardans J. et al. (2013). "Human-induced nitrogen–phosphorus imbalances alter natural and managed ecosystems across the globe"Nature communications, 4, 2934.

  2. Steffen W., Persson Å., Deutsch L., Zalasiewicz J. et al. (2011). "The Anthropocene: From global change to planetary stewardship". Ambio, 40(7), 739.

  3. Steffen, W., Richardson K., Rockström J., Cornell S. E. et al. (2015). "Planetary boundaries: Guiding human development on a changing planet". Science, 347(6223), 1259855.

  4. Vörösmarty C. J., Sahagian, D. (2000). "Anthropogenic disturbance of the terrestrial water cycle". AIBS Bulletin, 50(9), 753-765.

Olivier Cameron Trudel

Wildlife Biologist & Photographer

In the field, by helicopter or kayak, Olivier captures nature and its animals in its purest essence, without artifice. He constantly pursues this little moment, this sparkle in the animal's eye or in extraordinary landscapes where the human is unequivocally reminded to remember that he is part of the ecosystem.

Join the circle

Join our subscribers list to receive our news in your mailbox, from time to time.

This website was designed on a dark background to be more energy efficient by using less light, while making you enjoy our platform in a "darkroom" format.

We hope you enjoy it!

Follow us :

  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
© 2018 The Blue Organization
Montreal, QC, Canada

La Trace

Par Olivier Cameron Trudel

Biologiste de la faune & Photographe
 

Comprendre | Environnement | Philosophie

Temps de lecture: 4 minutes

Recherche et texte par Olivier Cameron Trudel

Mise en ligne Décembre 2018

La terre est approximativement ronde, vivante et conséquemment connue sous le nom de Biosphère. Bien que les sciences économiques aient mis un temps fou à le reconnaître, la planète est bel et bien une boule finie. Puisque les ressources y sont limitées dans l’espace et/ou dans le temps, la croissance infinie sur terre n’est pas possible, contrairement au paradigme de l’économie basée sur la croissance infinie du capital. L’utilisation des ressources versus la quantité limitée de celles-ci dictent plutôt les règles par un principe simple: rien ne se perd, rien ne se crée, tout se transforme.

 

Ce système terrestre génère, et régénère divers produits et services, dont l’espèce humaine fait partie des bénéficiaires. Comme pour un système économique, la régulation de la production terrestre peut être observée sous l’angle de l’offre et de la demande. La différence entre ce que la planète terre peut produire, fournir, absorber (l’offre) et ce que l’espèce humaine consomme et engendre comme déchets (la demande) converge vers un solde, positif ou négatif, comme dans un compte bancaire. Ce solde, dans ce cas-ci, est écologique, et se mesure sur l’ensemble des ressources utilisées dans le système fini qu’est la biosphère.

La trace qu’aura un humain au cours de son existence sera le résultat de la série de ses choix de consommation. C’est ce que l’on appelle l’empreinte écologique, et elle peut varier énormément selon la région géographique, les habitudes de transport, la grandeur du logement, les choix alimentaires, etc. (global footprint.org). Nous sommes 7,65 milliards d’humains sur une petite sphère bleue et verte, partageant un voyage commun, consommant des ressources limitées, et … nous n’avons nulle part d’autre où aller vivre.

Imaginez que la planète Terre, avec toute la complexité de ses systèmes écologiques et toute sa biodiversité, soit représentée par un vaisseau spatial électrique sophistiqué voyageant dans l’espace. La navigation de ce vaisseau nécessite d’utiliser la réserve des batteries, qui sont rechargées par l’énergie solaire. Actuellement, l’équipage utilise plus d’énergie que les panneaux solaires du vaisseau peuvent en générer. Le hic, c’est que la capacité totale de la charge initiale demeure inconnue. Manquer de batterie peut avoir des impacts importants, et ainsi compromettre la progression de l’intégralité du vaisseau dans l’espace-temps, rendre impossible l’évitement d’une probable collision avec un corps céleste, ainsi que diminuer la capacité du vaisseau à absorber un choc.

À plus petite échelle, le vaisseau est un système qui fonctionne grâce au travail conjoint d’une diversité de pièces, de boulons, de plaques de métal soudées … Lorsqu’on fait l’inventaire des différentes pièces du vaisseau, on constate que plusieurs ont disparu au fil du temps. Chacune de ces pièces isolément n’est peut-être pas nécessaire au fonctionnement du vaisseau, mais il y a un seuil où la disparition d’une pièce de plus risque de faire basculer le fragile équilibre du système. Nous avons la chance que la biosphère soit un système rempli de redondances fonctionnelles (ex.: différentes espèces peuvent polliniser, ou encore, décomposer la matière organique), ce qui nous a acheté un peu de temps... Mais ont également retardé la détection du “déboulonnage” du système et l’appréhension des impacts qu’il aurait. À force de démonter des pièces, de couper des fils et d’arracher des tuyaux, nous nous retrouvons avec un vaisseau dont la climatisation ne fournit plus, dont l’eau est impure et/ou manque dans certains secteurs alors que d’autres sont inondés. Si la perte de certaines fonctions du vaisseau semble désagréable et coûteuse pour l’humain, la perte d’autres fonctions devient tout simplement dangereuse.

 

Est-ce que le vaisseau qui est notre planète pourra éponger le “déboulonnage” écologique encore longtemps ? Pendant combien de temps les batteries et les pièces restantes du vaisseau permettront de soutenir les constituantes essentielles au fonctionnement de nos précieux écosystèmes ? Bien difficile de le prédire…

Un groupe de scientifiques a développé le concept des “limites planétaires” qui représentent les limites à ne pas dépasser si l'humanité désire conserver un écosystème sûr, minimisant du même coup les probabilités de modifications brutales et difficilement prévisibles de l'environnement planétaire. Cette approche découle du fait que nous avons tout avantage à maintenir le système planétaire dans des conditions comparables à celle de l’Holocène, ère géologique où l’espèce humaine s’est développée. Selon le résultat de leurs recherches, nous aurions dépassé les limites sécuritaires de plusieurs importants indicateurs considérés, notamment pour la diversité génétique, les changements climatiques, les flots d’azote et de phosphore ainsi que pour la modification du système terrestre. Gardons à l’esprit que nous vivons dans un système fermé et unique à des années-lumière … notre précieux vaisseau !

 

Quelle forme prendrait un effondrement de système(s) écologique (s) ? Si un, ou des systèmes de la biosphère perdaient leur capacité à produire des biens et des services (la pollinisation des abeilles, l’assainissement de l’air par les milieux forestiers, les protéines alimentaires fournies par la mer, la filtration des substances toxiques par les sols et les milieux humides, etc.), comment cela arriverait-il ? De façon ponctuelle, graduelle ou plutôt en effet domino ? Les deux éléments prioritaires pour assurer la stabilité du système planétaire sont la biodiversité et le climat, et les deux sont sérieusement impactés par nos activités, le coeur du moteur du vaisseau. Puisque plusieurs éléments sont interconnectés, il est logique de penser que l’effondrement d’un des systèmes ou des cycles écologiques pourrait mener au bouleversement d’autres briques constitutives de la biosphère, et ceci, de façon probablement abrupte. Lorsqu’une des étapes de la chaîne de fonctionnement ne fournit plus, c’est le vaisseau tout entier qui risque de s’arrêter …

Nous devons reconnaître que l’humain se trouve à une croisée des chemins. Nous avons le privilège de nous trouver à une époque déterminante pour notre espèce. Nous sommes parmi les premières générations à percevoir aussi clairement la surexploitation et  les pressions menaçant les systèmes de la biosphère ; résultat de nos propres activités. Mais nous nous trouvons aussi possiblement parmi les dernières générations qui peuvent encore changer le cours des choses afin de limiter l’ampleur des désastres que nos actions causent. Il faut trouver des solutions, rapidement, changer le récit qui se dessine pour l’avenir de l’humanité … Nous devons provoquer le revirement en prenant part à la réalisation du récit.

 

Il faut se positionner par nos actions … Mener celles-ci au jour le jour, et faire notre bilan, comme un budget, sur une période qui nous permet d’apprécier nos avancées, et d’en mesurer l’efficacité face aux urgences écologiques. C’est une question de respect de l’environnement, mais aussi du bien commun … une forme de responsabilité et d’humilité face à notre vaisseau spatial et toutes les formes de vie qui l’occupent.

Quelle trace choisirez-vous de laisser lors de votre passage sur terre ?

En savoir plus

Références

  1. Penuelas J., Poulter B., Sardans J. et al. (2013). "Human-induced nitrogen–phosphorus imbalances alter natural and managed ecosystems across the globe"Nature communications, 4, 2934.

  2. Steffen W., Persson Å., Deutsch L., Zalasiewicz J. et al. (2011). "The Anthropocene: From global change to planetary stewardship". Ambio, 40(7), 739.

  3. Steffen, W., Richardson K., Rockström J., Cornell S. E. et al. (2015). "Planetary boundaries: Guiding human development on a changing planet". Science, 347(6223), 1259855.

  4. Vörösmarty C. J., Sahagian, D. (2000). "Anthropogenic disturbance of the terrestrial water cycle". AIBS Bulletin, 50(9), 753-765.

Olivier Cameron Trudel

Biologiste de la faune, Photographe & Explorateur terrestre

Sur le terrain en photographie conventionnelle, en hélicoptère ou en kayak, Olivier capture la nature et ses animaux dans son essence la plus pure, sans artifice. Il poursuit constamment ce petit moment, cette étincelle dans l’oeil de l’animal ou par des paysages extraordinaires où l’humain est sans équivoque ramené à se rappeler qu’il fait partie prenante de l’écosystème.

Rejoignez le cercle

Joignez-vous à notre liste de diffusion pour recevoir nos nouvelles par courrier électronique, de temps à autre.

Ce site web a été conçu sur un fond sombre pour être plus économe en énergie, en utilisant moins de lumière, tout en vous faisant profiter de notre plate-forme dans un format "chambre noire".
 

Nous espérons que vous l'apprécierez!

Suivez-nous

  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
© 2018 Organisation Bleue
Montréal, QC, Canada