IMG_3177_2.jpg

From the Atlantic to the Great lakes, to preserve the beauty

our river

Written by Anne-Marie Asselin

Co-founder of the Blue Organization

 

Storytelling | Adventure | Plastic pollution

Reading time: About 5 minutes

Text by Anne-Marie Asselin

Photos by Anne-Marie Asselin, Jean-Sébastien Létourneau and Richard Mardens

Posted on September 9th 2020

World Cleaning Day is September 19. To inspire you to take part in a chore near you, here is the story of our two co-founders across the Canadian coast in search of plastic pollution!


In partnership with TAÏGA , the Blue Organization has improved its bank cleaning tour, by facilitating privileged access to the water. From Newfoundland to the Great Lakes, to cross 6 provinces in RVs, the duo's awareness-raising work was no small task, especially in the summer period, with the high traffic of tourism.

Discover their story of adventures in the discovery of the coastal environment of our region.

Reconnecting with my country and my province

Quebec, I said I knew it because I had already been in a few regions such as Bas-Saint-Laurent and Gaspésie. I saw Percé, Tadoussac, I went to Rimouski, to the Bic National park. But for 2 years now, I have started to discover Quebec, for real. It is the work that brought me on the road, to travel the 4 corners of the beautiful province, accompanied by my sidekick, my boyfriend and business partner: Jeanseb!

 

As soon as in 2012, during a scientific sailing expedition in which I was partaking (I am a marine biologist and a professional diver), I saw a sea of plastic stretching from Bermuda to Costa Rica. There were micro particles, like small confettis, distributed in the first 3 meters of depth. But there were also larger debris, intact objects that I recognized from my daily use: bottles of water or shampoo floating on the surface of the Atlantic Ocean. I saw it constantly, and not only at sea: on the beaches and shores, in the mangroves, in the rivers, lakes, and plenty established underwater… As if the ocean was responsible for spitting out the excess plastic on the banks, or swallowing it forever. I witnessed through the years, that this type of pollution is on the rise, at an alarming rate, in all the seas of the world. The side effects have devastating effects on wildlife, ecosystems, climate change and ...

 

human health.

By 2030, the global production of plastic waste could increase by 41% & the amount
accumulated in the ocean could
DOUBLE

Then one day, I came back to Quebec and I anchored myself there, for the first time in 15 years. Thinking that the pollution was mainly elsewhere, I realized quite quickly by the very fact that our shorelines and our rivers were not necessarily in a better state than certain beaches in Latin America or Asia for example.

 

It was therefore in May 2019 that Jean-Sébastien and I began a cleaning tour of eastern Canada, including Quebec, in an RV, during 4 months. Sometimes by paddle board or canoe, sometimes freediving, and especially on foot, we have documented and cleaned nearly 500,000 m2 of beach, right here! Exploring the Canadian coastal environment allowed us to discover a universe so unique, diverse, impressive! There is no longer any question of going overseas for us, when Canada, Quebec offers so much beauty, space and natural resources! Did you know that Canada has the longest coastline in the world, bordering 3 out of 5 oceans?

 

In addition to its wonders, we also have a sad observation in our own country: plastic pollution is indeed present in the Atlantic Ocean, in the St.Lawrence's Gulf, Estuary and River, in our lakes and streams. Not a place escapes it. Not just in India or the Pacific Islands, some believe!

 

Here.

  • From Newfoundland to the Great Lakes
  • 6 Canadian provinces
  • 12,000 km in VR
  • 500,000 m2 of shores
    cleaned
  • 26 clean ups
  • 1000 volunteers

1. Gros Morne (TN) 2. St-John (TN) 3. Canso (NE) 4. Halifax, NE 4. Cavendish (PEI) 5. Bay of Fundy (NB) 6. Bouctouche (NB)

7. Carleton (QC) 8. Sainte-Anne-des-Monts (QC) 9. Green Island (QC) 10. Charlevoix (QC) 11. Quebec (QC)

12. Île d'Orléans (QC) 13. Sainte-Croix (QC) 14. Trois-Rivières, Millette River (QC)

15. Montreal, Lachine Canal (QC) 16. Sainte-Marthe-sur-le-lac (QC) 17. Gatineau, Pétrie Island (QC)

18. Ottawa, mooney's beach (ON) 19. Turkey Point, Lake Ontario (ON) 20. Wasaga Beach, Lake Huron (ON)

21. Sauble beach, Lake Huron (ON) 22. Grand Bend, Lake Huron (ON) 23. Port Stanley, Lake Erie (ON)

24. Port Dover, Lake Erie (ON) 25. Niagara falls (ON) 26. Sunset beach, Lake Ontario 27. Kelson beach, Lake Ontario

The St. Lawrence

Quebec is crossed by one of the most important rivers in America, the St. Lawrence, which connects the Great Lakes to the Atlantic Ocean. It is the only outlet from the Great Lakes basin. In a way, it represents the vein of Quebec,  flowing and flushing towards the Atlantic. It contains a rich biodiversity, but very fragile; think of the blue whale or the beluga whales, both species being endangered. It also supports several important economic activity sectors for the province, both tourism and maritime that people depend on.

Except that he's sick, because of human activity and pollution. And since the St. Lawrence is the heart of our beautiful province, it is important to keep it in good health.

Did you know that 80% of the plastic in the oceans comes from rivers and streams located inside continents? It is these tributaries located in the heart of the land that collect the plastics and pollution carrying it with the currents to the oceans, which accumulate them and swallow them up. Our responsibility is far from small in North America, despite what some may think, and despite the distance from the coast and the sea ...

The principle here is not to slap yourself on the fingers, far from the intention. But we must clearly begin by understanding the extent of the problem in our own country, and then put into perspective the initiatives to be taken to resolve the problem. Our solution to Jean-Sébastien and I begins with awareness and action. But these are just two facets of so many things that are being developed and realized! To help spread the initiatives and the word, we do a lot of collaborations to push the message further and above all, in a positive way.

In Canada,

9% of plastics are recycled,

4% are incinerated and

86% end up in the landfill

(2019).

Canada produces
per capita, a
"Disproportionate"
quantity of waste.
Canadians, and Quebecers, are among the largest producers of waste on the planet, ahead of the United States and China,
according to a report reviewing
the performance of nearly 200 countries
in this domain.
IMG_7126.jpg

Unity is strength

Water sports are the perfect niche! Sports communities use and recognize the importance of waterways. This unconditional love prompts them to get involved without comparable in cleaning activities. Whether it is sport freediving, scuba diving, stand up paddleboarding, kayaking, canoeing, etc., no community is immune. 

Last summer we decided to use our TAIGA paddle boards to clean up on water, in rivers, in lakes or even on the river. Our boards allow us to bring back waste found in the environment, simply using a bucket or a diving net attached to the front. Each time we went on an adventure, we came back with plastic found floating on the surface, or encrusted on the banks not easily accessible without floating boats. And to discover the aquatic and marine environment of Quebec, it allows to get involved concretely in the preservation of these, while combining the useful with the pleasant!

Individually or in small groups, especially this summer, you can also join the #PlasticfreeStLawrence movement. Prepare a bucket or a bag to collect waste for your next aquatic adventure!

Every waste counts, for real!

Go back to basics, and see the extent of the work to be done here.

I am so proud to be from Quebec, but we have to admit that there is work and research to be done before achieving a healthy balance between our river, its biodiversity and the humans who live there.

 

Because we protect what we love.

Anne-Marie et Jean-Sébastien

Co-founders of the Blue Organization

L'Organisation Bleue is a non-profit organization, based in Quebec and founded in 2018 by two young entrepreneurs. The organization does environmental awareness and popularization of science, through the creative media.

Our co-founders saw a need to attach the environment with a wave of positivism, in front of the alarmist observations of the mainstream media. Creativity and scientific popularization go very well together by combining their expertise, the arts and science to better understand the environment in which we live. Through an inspiring approach, let yourself be surprised by their adventure stories which today inspires an entire community through action and mutual aid!

  • Instagram

Join the circle

Join our subscribers list to receive our news in your mailbox, from time to time.

This website was designed on a dark background to be more energy efficient by using less light, while making you enjoy our platform in a "darkroom" format.

We hope you enjoy it!

Follow us :

  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
© 2018 The Blue Organization
Montreal, QC, Canada

IMG_3177_2.jpg

De l'Atlantique aux Grands Lacs, pour préserver la beauté du fleuve

Écrit par Anne-Marie Asselin

Co-fondatrice de l'Organisation Bleue 

 

Récit | Aventure | Pollution plastique

Temps de lecture: Environ 5 minutes

Texte par Anne-Marie Asselin

Photos par Anne-Marie Asselin, Jean-Sébastien Létourneau et Richard Mardens

Mise en ligne le 9 septembre 2020

La Journée mondiale des nettoyages, c'est le 19 septembre prochain. Afin de vous inspirer à prendre part à une corvée près de chez vous, voici le récit de nos deux co-fondateurs à travers le littoral canadien, à la recherche de pollution plastique!


En partenariat avec TAÏGA, l’Organisation Bleue a bonifié sa tournée de nettoyage de berges, en facilitant un accès privilégié sur l’eau. De Terre-Neuve jusqu’aux Grands Lacs, à traverser 6 provinces en VR, le travail de sensibilisation du duo n’était pas une mince tâche, surtout en période estivale, avec l’achalandage important du tourisme.

Découvrez leur récit d’aventures à la découverte du milieu côtier de chez nous.

Renouer avec mon pays et ma province

Le Québec, je disais le connaître parce que j’avais déjà été dans quelques régions comme le Bas-Saint-Laurent et la Gaspésie. J’ai vu Percé, Tadoussac, j’ai été à Rimouski, au parc du Bic. Mais depuis maintenant 2 ans, je me suis mise à découvrir le Québec, pour vrai. C’est le travail qui m’a amené sur la route, à sillonner les 4 coins de la belle province, accompagnée de mon acolyte, mon copain et partenaire d’affaires: Jeanseb! 

 

Aussitôt qu’en 2012, lors d’une expédition scientifique à voile sur laquelle je prenais part (je suis biologiste marine et plongeuse professionnelle), j’ai pu constater une mer de plastique étendue des Bermudes jusqu’au Costa Rica. Il y avait des microparticules, comme des petits confettis répartis dans les 3 premiers mètres de profondeur, mais aussi de plus gros débris, des objets intacts que je reconnaissais de mon quotidien; des bouteilles d’eau ou de shampooing flottant à la surface de l’océan Atlantique. Je le constatais constamment, et pas seulement en mer: sur les côtes, sur les plages, dans les mangroves, les rivières… Comme si l’océan se chargeait de recracher le plastique en trop sur les berges. J’ai découvert que ce type de pollution était en hausse, à un rythme alarmant, dans toutes les mers du monde, témoignant des effets dévastateurs sur la faune, les écosystèmes, le changement climatique et même la santé humaine.

« D’ici 2030, la production mondiale de déchets plastiques pourrait augmenter de 41 % et,
la quantité accumulée dans l’océan pourrait doubler »

Puis un jour, je suis revenue au Québec et je m’y suis ancrée, pour la première fois depuis 15 ans. Pensant que la pollution c’était surtout ailleurs, j’ai réalisé assez rapidement par le fait même que nos berges et notre fleuve n’étaient pas nécessairement dans un meilleur état que certaines plages d’Amérique latine ou d’Asie, par exemple… 

 

C’est donc en mai 2019 que Jean-Sébastien et moi avons entamé une tournée de nettoyage de l’est du Canada, dont le Québec, en VR, pendant 4 mois, sur plus de

12 000 kilomètres. Parfois en paddle board ou en canot, parfois en apnée, et surtout à pied, nous avons documenté et nettoyé près de 500 000 m2 de plage, ici même! Explorer le milieu côtier canadien nous a permis de découvrir un univers tellement unique, diversifié, impressionnant! Il n’est plus question d’aller outre-mer pour nous, quand le Canada, le Québec offre tellement de beauté, d’espace et de richesses naturelles! Saviez-vous que le Canada possède le plus long littoral au monde, longeant 3 océans sur 5? 

 

Outre ses merveilles, nous avons un aussi un triste constat dans notre propre pays: la pollution plastique est bel et bien présente dans l’océan Atlantique, dans le fleuve, dans nos lacs et nos rivières. Pas un endroit n’y échappe. Pas juste en Inde ou dans les îles du Pacifique! 

 

Ici.

​   
  • De Terre-Neuve aux Grands Lacs
  • 6 provinces canadiennes
  • 12 000 km en VR
  • 500 000 m2 de berges nettoyées
  • 26 clean ups
  • 1000 bénévoles

1. Gros Morne (TN) 2. St-John (TN) 3. Canso (NE) 4. Halifax, NE 4. Cavendish (PEI) 5. Baie de Fundy (NB) 6. Bouctouche (NB)

7. Carleton (QC) 8. Sainte-Anne-des-Monts (QC) 9. Île verte (QC) 10. Charlevoix (QC) 11. Québec (QC) 

12. Île d'Orléans (QC) 13. Sainte-Croix (QC) 14. Trois-Rivières, rivière Millette (QC) 

15. Montréal, canal Lachine (QC) 16. Sainte-Marthe-sur-le-lac (QC) 17. Gatineau, île Pétrie (QC) 

18. Ottawa, mooney's beach (ON) 19. Turkey Point, lac Ontario (ON) 20. Wasaga Beach, lac Huron (ON) 

21. Sauble beach, lac Huron (ON) 22. Grand Bend, lac Huron (ON) 23. Port Stanley, lac Érié (ON)

24. Port Dover, lac Érié (ON) 25. Niagara falls (ON) 26. Sunset beach, lac Ontario 27. Kelson beach, lac Ontario 

Le Saint-Laurent

Le Québec est traversé de l’un des plus importants fleuves de l’Amérique, le Saint-Laurent, qui relie les Grands Lacs à l'océan Atlantique. Il est le seul émissaire du bassin des Grands Lacs. Il représente en quelque sorte la veine du Québec, son aorte, se déversant vers l’Atlantique. Il contient une biodiversité riche, mais très fragilisée; pensez au rorqual bleu ou aux bélugas, les deux espèces étant en voie de disparition. Il soutient aussi plusieurs secteurs d’activités économiques importants pour la province, tant touristique, que maritime. Sauf qu'il est malade, à cause de l’activité humaine et de la pollution. Et comme le Saint-Laurent est le coeur de notre belle province, c'est important de le maintenir en bonne santé.

Saviez-vous que 80% du plastique présent dans les océans provient des rivières et des fleuves se situant à l’intérieur des continents? Ce sont ces affluents situés au coeur des terres qui récoltent les plastiques et la pollution acheminant les matières nuisibles avec les courants vers les océans, qui les accumulent et les engloutissent. Notre responsabilité est loin d’être maigre en Amérique du Nord, malgré ce que certains peuvent penser, et malgré la distance des côtes et de la mer... 

Le principe ici n’est pas de se taper sur les doigts, loin de là l’intention. Mais il faut clairement commencer par comprendre l’ampleur du problème dans notre propre pays, pour ensuite mettre en perspectives des initiatives à prendre pour résoudre la problématique. Notre solution à Jean-Sébastien et moi passe d’abord par la sensibilisation et l’action. Mais ce ne sont que deux facettes de tellement de gestes pouvant être posés! C’est pourquoi nous faisons beaucoup de collaborations pour pousser le message plus loin et surtout, positivement. 

Au Canada,

9 % des plastiques sont recyclés,

4 % sont incinérés et

86 % se retrouvent à l’enfouissement

(2019).

Le Canada produit par habitant une quantité
« démesurée »
de déchets.
Les Canadiens, et les québécois figurent donc parmi les plus grands producteurs de déchets de la planète, devant les États-Unis et la Chine,
selon un rapport passant en revue
la performance de près de 200 pays
dans ce domaine.
IMG_7126.jpg

L’union fait la force

Les sports aquatiques, c’est la niche parfaite! Les communautés sportives utilisent et reconnaissent l’importance des cours d’eau. Cet amour inconditionnel les pousse à s’impliquer sans comparables dans les activités de nettoyage. Que ce soit l’apnée sportive, la plongée sous-marine, le stand up paddle, le kayak, le canot, etc., aucune communauté n’y échappe.

L’été dernier nous avons décidé d’utiliser nos planches à pagaie TAÏGA pour faire des nettoyages sur l’eau, en rivière, dans des lacs ou même sur le fleuve. Nos planches nous permettent de ramener des déchets trouvés dans l’environnement, à l’aide simplement d’un sceau ou d’un filet de plongée attaché à l’avant. À chaque fois que nous sommes partis à l’aventure, nous sommes revenus avec du plastique trouvé flottant à la surface, ou incrustés sur les berges peu accessibles sans embarcations flottantes. Et de découvrir le milieu aquatique et marin du Québec, ça permet de s’impliquer concrètement sur la préservation de ceux-ci, tout en joignant l’utile à l’agréable!

Individuellement ou en petits groupes, surtout cet été, vous pouvez aussi vous connecter au mouvement #SaintLaurentsansplastique. Prévoyez un sceau, ou un sac pour collecter les déchets, que vous pourrez ramasser au passage lors de vos prochaines balades sur l’eau ou sur les berges. 

Chaque déchet compte, pour vrai!

Retourner aux sources, et constater l’ampleur du travail à faire chez nous. 

Je suis si fière d’être québécoise, mais il faut admettre qu’il y a du travail et de la recherche à faire avant d’atteindre l’équilibre sain entre notre fleuve, sa biodiversité et les humains qui y cohabitent.

 

Parce qu’on protège ce qu’on aime.

Anne-Marie et Jean-Sébastien

Co-fondateurs de l'Organisation Bleue

​L’Organisation Bleue est un organisme à but non lucratif, basé au Québec et fondé en 2018 par deux jeunes entrepreneurs. L’organisme fait de la sensibilisation environnementale et de la vulgarisation scientifique, par le biais du média créatif.

Nos co-fondateurs voyaient un besoin d'attacher l'environnement avec une vague de positivisme, devant les constats alarmistes des grands médias. La créativité et la vulgarisation scientifique font très bon ménages en alliant leurs expertises, les arts et la science pour mieux comprendre l'environnement dans lequel nous vivons. Par une démarche inspirante, laissez vous surprendre par leurs récits d'aventure qui inspire aujourd'hui toute une communauté par l'action et l'entraide!

  • Instagram

Rejoignez le cercle

Joignez-vous à notre liste de diffusion pour recevoir nos nouvelles par courrier électronique, de temps à autre.

Ce site web a été conçu sur un fond sombre pour être plus économe en énergie, en utilisant moins de lumière, tout en profitant de notre plate-forme dans un format "chambre noire".
 

Nous espérons que vous l'appréciez!

Suivez-nous

  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
© 2018 Organisation Bleue
Montréal, QC, Canada